I am A believer, Christian. Unmasked. Unashamed.

My dad is Muslim and his side of the family is Muslim , devout muslims. My family lives in Katsina state, the northern part of Nigeria. For the first time I was invited to the Mosque. 

My heart began beating every hour that it got closer to the time of me arriving to the Mosque. Even while I was driving to find the Mosque my heart kept beating.

 I was, (not proud to say this).

I was scared. I was frightened. Actually.

I was scared because I knew that I was not muslim. I am christian, I did not wear the attire , and I didn’t change anything about my wardrobe. I didn’t take off my gold cross necklace, so I stuck out like a sore thumb.

I was in the basement with the other women, so it was a nice social area. The women stared, like you don’t belong here. I got those kind of stares, like If you turned your head to look around, you’d find others staring at you.

Some spoke to me, and others rushed by me.

I realized quickly , how it felt to be muslim in america. I understood how they get the stares, and how uncomfortable they can feel at times.

I drew a picture in my head of how differently things would have been if a muslim friend were to come to a social gathering at a church event. I could imagine the perfect picture of “Christians ” swarming and loving on that muslim. 

I felt left out.But, I knew God was with me.

But, I know that God is calling me to be a light, he Is calling me to be that voice in my dad’s side of the family.

I already had a family relative try to convert me, so I understand how much of a fight it can be.

I also understand that my life is on the line. Those who deny me, I will deny before my father. 

I love my family , but Sometimes love is worth fighting for.

To some wearing the title Christian can be a little easier,  but for me it will be a fight in the future.

And it’s a fight worth fighting for. 

I love all my family. 

http://bible.com/1/mat.10.32-35.kjv Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I confess also before my Father which is in heaven.    But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.    Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.    For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.

16 Comments

  1. Wow, I love your perspective. I have several Muslim friends and family members, as well and I try so hard to understand their struggles so I can love them better. We’re all a little bit more connected than we think! Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

