The Switch

Amongst my college and after college years, I have came across, a lot of guys who, …. “had potential.” (Laughing).

I laugh because Saying ,”had potential.”, Is totally out of my control , because I know that there is only one man-my husband-for me.

Often times I would finally come to the conclusion that the guys who I did let close to me as potential mates,  were merely distractions.

Often times, when I would pray and listen to Holy Spirit, I would hear:

“No.”

Or

“He is your brother in Christ.”

Or

“It’s a distraction.”

I use to randomly and still do ask God , why couldn’t this be a switch? Why couldn’t these first 25 or 30 years of my life be turned off like a switch. Then when my husband approaches me and asks me to marry him, turn on the Switch.


This “switch” that I generated in my imagination at an early age would turn the access off to desires of wanting sex, desires to be with my husband, and desires to go on dates.

God would turn the switch on when the time was here to meet my husband.

The switch in my inventive mind would be the answer to all our prayers! (Laughing again) 
Yea right! I’m learning that God has already supplied our need through the fruit of the spirit. 

Temperance- self Control or Moderation or Self Restraint.

 We got to learn how to cast down thoughts, ideas and suggestions and renew our mind with the Word.

This is real.

I went to a Christian poetry concert. Called Poets in Autumn Tour, and one of the poets spoke about how she waited 33 years for her husband. 

My mind was blown away, here I am in the close to mid 20’s, and I am crying. When she said, 18 came, then 22 came, then 28 , 30, 31, 32 and still no husband. I was truly amazed! By 33, she got her husband!

This wait will work out all the kinks in my life, through growth and maturity in him. 

http://bible.com/1/gal.5.22-24.kjv But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,  Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.  And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts.

http://www.kingdompromo.net/poetsinautumn

http://youtu.be/nydx09XUbxk

6 Comments

  1. Wow! That’s a really good post. Had the same experience…wanting to wait coz of my spiritual conviction but close to turning 50 and I’m looking back… was it worth it? Sorry, I’m at a fork on the road… I shouldn’t say this but I kinda feel I missed out when I hear my friends talk about “stuff”… I’m still preaching the same thing to my daughters… wait til you get married. But am I really going to walk the talk now that I’m at this stage in my life? I pray that God leads me…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I appreciate it 😊
      And noo, I don’t think you should doubt your stance in waiting. You are being used by God and what you are doing is being faithful to God. You are representing the kingdom of God, and teaching your daughters to wait until marriage. This is something I had to learn on my own, apart from my parents, because it really wasn’t stressed to wait until marriage. You are a great father for teaching them the right way, I wish I had that. God will lead you, and bless you with strength in this journey because of your faithfulness to him , I pray for the same! He loves the righteous

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

