Do not be shaken, Stand fast. 

For the last month I have been in contact with my family in Nigeria, through an app called What’s app. I have not met any of my family yet,neither have I been to Nigeria.

I have been hiding–which is not good.

I have been hiding behind the normal encouragement on our family group chat to follow “Allah” and Islam principles.

I haven’t said anything about my faith, because I know that many of my family members don’t know that I’m Christian yet. So strategically,  and lovingly, and by wisdom I have been waiting for the right moment to introduce who I truely am, a Christian.

In the last month, I have been taught bits and pieces of my tribal language- “Hausa”,  by one of the best cousins ever! He is the best cousin Simply because he takes the time out everyday,  to teach me our tribal Nigerian language.
Today, he asks what are you doing? So, I say ” I’m watching videos.”

 He asks what kind? 

Then, I boldly say “videos on the bible, and video’s on scripture.”

He says: I like to know bible.

So, I immediately go in, and I say ” you do know that I am Christian right?”

He responds, “Yes.” “You do know that I am Muslim right?”

A sigh of relief came out like, Yes, He knew this whole time! Yay horray! 
Then I happily ask,” so who told you, Aunty or my Daddy?”

But, a couple minutes pass,then 15 minutes pass, then 30 mimutes with no reply.

As I waited for his reply,  I began to sense that me being a Christian, as I imaginied to be “a sigh of peace and relief” turned out to be just as I have been preparing for “a fight”.

You may be saying, but Shade’ it doesn’t really have to be a fight. But, to me it’s much more then something that should be passive. I know that in God’s timing my family will prayerfully be converted to “the truth.” But, the wait can be challengend  with being questions,  and forced into conversations that challenge you to read the Quran, and to read the bible at the same time, just to get the “Pre-faith believing Christian” to see eye to eye with what you know the truth to be.

So, he replied about 30 min later  to my question :” so who told you, Aunty or my Daddy?”  

And he said,” No.”

I ask “who told you?” And he says “I could tell by your picture.”

He replied  with questions like 

Why don’t you believe? 

I respond : Because I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. My mom was brought up Christian and she took us to church as we grew up.

He continued with questions like, Did you know that you were born Muslim?

I respond: That’s not true. And I provide 1 corinthians 7:13-14

 Did you know Jesus is a servant of God? 

I respond: Jesus is God.

And in between the questions, he asks me to read Chapters 1-5 of the  Quran, which I agreed to.

So, by this time it was already time for him to Go To bed, Since Nigeria is 5 hours ahead of Eastern time.

 He asks me to promise him that I will read the Quran, which I did agree to do again.

I also, asked him to read 1 John 4 , 1 John 5, and John chapter 3. Which he agreed to do.

When our conversation was done, I unconciously asked God..”Why me?”

I turn around and grab my bible and God leads me to these verses:

http://bible.com/1/2th.2.13-17.kjv But we are bound to give thanks alway to God for you, brethren beloved of the Lord, because God hath from the beginning chosen you to salvation through sanctification of the Spirit and belief of the truth:  Whereunto he called you by our gospel, to the obtaining of the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.  Therefore, brethren, stand fast, and hold the traditions which ye have been taught, whether by word, or our epistle.  Now our Lord Jesus Christ himself, and God, even our Father, which hath loved us, and hath given us everlasting consolation and good hope through grace,  Comfort your hearts, and stablish you in every good word and work.

6 Comments

    1. Glory, amen thanks!
      It’s hard being asked so many questions, I’m trying not to be annoyed by the questions he is asking. My cousin feels as if He knows so much about Islamic religion and thinks I know nothing about the Bible. He’s really trying to get under my skin, but,I’m trying to respond back to him in Love. Definitely need prayers. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

