Pagan Holiday?

Christmas and the New year 

For the first time in a couple of years, I am actually looking forward to Christmas ,the decorations, the cold weather,  Christmas tree,and holiday fun.

Last year I was so sprung up on how If I am Christian then I should not celebrate Christmas with my family and enjoy the festivities because of “paganism.”

This year I learned what..

“God is Love.” Means.

God Loves past what other people think and do culturally. 

I had a friend comment on a post I made on facebook. The post said, “What better way to celebrate the Christmas holiday, than with Hallmark Movies.” My friend came on abruptly and said,”Christmas is a pagan holiday.” I could feel her frustration and the feeling of a forced christian religion from her.

 God does not Love like that.

Christmas in America is one of the biggest celebrated holidays of every year.

And if my family wants to enjoy it, I’m going to use any opportunity I Can To Share God’s Love.

The bible says

Colossians 2:16

Therefore let no one pass judgement on you of food and drink, or with regard to a festival or a new moon or a sabbath.

Yes I do agree that Jesus was not born on Christmas day, December 25. Historically Jesus was said to be born on a different day other than the twenty fifth. But, since Christmas falls on December 25 every year, I’m going to celebrate it as if it was his birthday. 

7 Comments

  1. Awesome verse to share for this! Though He was not born on the 25th of December, one theory is that the Church chose to celebrate Jesus on that day in order to keep the focus off of a pagan holiday. I know some people who will work themselves into a frenzy trying to warn everyone about their trees and how it symbolizes evil. I suppose that would be true if we idolized and worshiped the trees instead of God. Believers can choose to celebrate Emmanuel during this season even with the lights and the trees and traditions. The focus can remain Jesus and we can definitely use this time to share His love. Great post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree! I look forward to the Christmas season too. I have no problem at all with celebrating Christmas, even if Jesus was not born on that day. πŸ™‚ I’m sad to hear that some people are missing out in the celebrating though. I have heard that Jesus was born in September; if that is true, then December 25th could easily have been the day Jesus was conceived and entered the world… πŸ™‚

    Also Christmas Hallmark movies… looking forward to watching some with my mom soon. πŸ™‚ Do you have a favorite?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t seen many yet either, but I really liked the ones I saw; I thought you may have a recommendation. XD So far, my favorite is probably ‘A Dog Named Christmas’. πŸ™‚ My mom really likes ‘Prancer’ as well; I look forward to watching that one this year with her. πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. I am a pagan and i find you comment about how we are evil is vary rude. I would like you to do a little history before coming to that conclusion. Also the tree was taking form what we call a Yule tree. the christen church keep the holidays close to the pagan ones because it was easer to transition people to the “new religion”. I don’t say this out of hate or anything. I just don’t like it when people think they know something they know nothing about. it would be nice for people to learn about the history then just go off of stories. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, If you read the blog I wrote, I was writing about how my friend called Christmas a pagan holiday and How I don’t agree with her. I used to look at it as a pagan holiday but, I don’t anymore. And the bible says dont judge other people’s choice of holiday. I never said anything was evil in my blog and I’m sorry if I brought offense to you but, thank you for informing me 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

