Courage to speak up! To my Muslim Family 

For the past week I have been staying over my muslim families house. And an Aunt just came to America from Nigeria for the first time. So, I have been With her, taking her out places and just being good company. I also, have been enjoying my family.

Yesterday one of my aunt’s fell Sick, and I had to go pick up my niece and Nephew, who are 6 and 4 respectively from the Mosque teaching house. My aunt was so sick that she couldn’t drive. So, I went to pick up my joyful Neice and nephew.

Out of Love, Fear was gone.

I drove up to the house in the back of the mosque and picked my family up. But, the instructor who teaches my nephew and Neice Islamic principles invited me and my aunt from Nigeria in to relax.

I hesitated and thought to myself it’s just a house.

So, we took our shoes off before entering the house and to my surprise it was quiet beautiful. No shoes are allowed because when you walk in you are greeted by rugs, pillows and no chairs. So it is proper Islamic custom in some homes to sit on the floor. This instructor was so sweet, and gave my aunt and I cookies and Tea.

I was greeted by Islamic writings, a beautiful scenery and the Koran opened on the floor. I suspected that she was teaching the kids suras throughout the evening.

While all this was happening I just remembered that My God is always with me. I actually depicted Jesus sitting on the floor with me , my aunt and the lady sharing Tea and cookies. As I looked around and glanced at the room , I took quiet deep breaths to remind myself of the Love of God, and that this is just a sharing moment.
So my aunt shared how she likes America and I shared my Job search and my life after graduation. Time went on, and it was time to go.

We drove back to the house and my aunt was still feeling sick.

Night came and I read the bible and prayed for my aunt, that Jesus would heal her and show himself to her as he heals her.

When I finished praying a thought came in my mind, like why me God? Why do I have to be so different with a divided house hold? Two sides of my family-one devout Muslims and the other, Sunday going Christians.

As I rose up to get in bed, I hear holy spirit say , “There hath no temptation taken you ..” ” but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”

So, I get in bed grab my bible. And quiet myself again and say “ok God, where is this scripture? help me out. I hear 1 Corinthians 10.

So, I go to 1 Corinthians 10, and skim through and find it! 1 Corinthians 10:13

There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man:but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that he may be able to bear it.

So, morning comes and I go downstairs to find my aunt healed. I ask, how are you feeling? And she says Much better. She looked great and all!

So, my aunt and my other aunt who came from Nigeria begin to speak in their native language. I am completely used to being in a room filled with Nigerians who speak in their native language. I hear and pick up some words and understand what they are saying.

But, this conversation took me by surprise. They began to speak out about some man , who decided to adventure “Christianity.”

I hear my aunt say, “He went to go worship with the Christians.” That hit me.

And then they change their language to English. I’m barely paying attention because They weren’t really speaking to me, so I was on my phone.

My aunt begins to say, “You know they say, there are only three real religions….Judaism, Christianity, and Islam.”

She goes on to say, “They say just pray to God and ask God to reveal the real God.” “It’s all in our mind, we have to choose.”

I really wanted to say, The way to get to the one true God is by praying to Jesus. Not just praying to “God”. Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life. No one can get to the father, except by going through Jesus Christ. He is the key to knowing who God is.

They began to speak again in the native language and I hear Christian this and Christian that. 

I look up and I see her making eye contact with me.

Inside I really wanted to speak, but I just couldn’t, I was scared to speak out, because I know how serious they are about Islam and that When I speak it may lead to tension. Because I know once I start, I will have to defend Jesus.
I realize that I still have to allow Jesus to speak through me and that I still need to build up the courage to defend my faith and who Jesus is. I realize that all it takes is one stand, that may lead to several other conversations about the Muslim God Allah, and my God-the father, son, and holy spirit.

I walked out of my families house with such Guilt and conviction. I am not proud of how I handled the one duty God has called me to be , which is to be his disciple. And I know God was preparing me with the scripture 1 Corinthians 10:13 from the previous night.

Compared to what will happen in Nigeria-which is full with many more of my devout muslim family. This experience was nothing to be compared to what It will feel like when I meet my family.

This has become a little harder than I thought. I am just praying for God’s Grace and courage to bring my family the true light and real faith of Jesus.

I can’t help but think, what if this one time could have changed both of my aunt’s perspective on Who the True and only real God is. Just one stand is all it takes. 

So, I encourage you all and myself to listen to holy spirit the first time. Take this seriously. And dont run away from the calling on your life which is to Share the Gospel of Jesus.

7 Comments

  1. Jesus has entrusted you with a big responsibility! “For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.” (1 Tim 1:7) Let’s harness it! It’s really hard for me to speak up too but I know the world needs us to do so!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

